How to: cut and dice an avocado

avocado

I’ve had times where I liked the idea of trying a food, but I had no idea how to start. How does this thing even work? How to cut it? How to prepare it? So I’ve decided I’ll add some ‘How to’ blogs, whenever I come across such an ingredient.

One of these ‘how the heck does this work’ fruits for me was the avocado. Isn’t that the green stuff in my sushi? People say it’s healthy and tastes good. It should work well in salads. Great! But how?

Turns out, it’s actually quite easy. In this case, the saying ‘A picture tells more than a thousand words’ fits perfectly, so just have a little look at the picture above.

  1. Cut the fruit in half, working around the seed.
  2. Hold each half with one hand and slowly twist them apart. Remove the seed.
  3. For each half: First slice horizontally with about 1 cm in between the slices, then do the same vertically. The skin is quite thick. Don’t slice through it, so it’ll act as a nice little bowl.
  4. Now use a spoon to scoop out the flesh of the avocado and you’ll have nice dices for your salad!
  5. Throw away the skin.

Now what to do with this avocado? Use it in a nice mango avocado salad, or make some avocado chocolate mousse (no dicing required!).


 

Check out my Foodie products!

Leave a comment