Teriyaki Couscous

CousCous01

A big improvement on my previous version.

A while ago, I tried my hand at making a couscous dinner (I talked about it on Steemit). It did not work out well, because I just threw some healthy stuff together and they didn’t fit very well. It gave me an idea for a different kind of couscous dinner, though.

We like mushrooms here and we also enjoy the teriyaki taste, so I figured I’d combine the two. I once had this delicious sandwich with teriyaki sauce, mushrooms, chicken and taugé (is that the correct English word?). I figured, why not mix it with couscous? It turned out quite well, so here’s the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 500g Mushrooms (whichever you like best, I mixed two kinds)
  • 250g Tauge
  • A couple of spring unions
  • 125g Smoked chicken (or however much you like)
  • 200g Couscous
  • Coconut milk
  • Teriyaki sauce (however much you enjoy)
  • Cumin
  • Turmeric
  • Cardamom
  • Ginger syrup (optional)
  1. Cut the mushrooms in quarters and cut the spring unions and chicken in small pieces.
  2. Bring a bit of water to boil and mix it with the couscous and some coconut milk. Let this sit while doing the rest.
  3. Heat up some oil in a wok and add the spring unions and cumin. Heat up for a minute or two.
  4. Add the mushrooms, taugé, teriyaki sauce, turmeric, cardamom and optionally the ginger syrup. Mix and heat this up well.
  5. Add the chicken and the couscous and heat up for another minute or two.
  6. Done.

Enjoy!


This was first posted on Steemit.

One thought on “Teriyaki Couscous

Leave a Reply

