Stew

stew

Nothing special, just stew.

Winter is coming. Oh my, I’m sorry for that. Had to throw that over-used quote in sometime! It is true though. It’s cold. It’s oh so cold! I cicle to work every morning, which is not much fun like this! My boyfriend does aswell, he told me about his beard actually being frozen. Joy!

So when it’s this cold, it’s time for stew, right? It’s the good thing about winter.

While we’re on the cliches, I’ve got some more for you:
– Never change a winning team.
– Don’t fix what ain’t broken.

Basically, I like stew just the way it is, so I don’t mess around with it too much. I switch around the vegetables a bit and use other liquids sometimes (we were very sad we didn’t think about buying some Guiness to substitute the wine), but that’s about it. Oh, and some recipes call for flour.. I messed that up big time last winter, so no flour for me! I don’t miss it anyway. Here’s the basic recipe I use.

Ingredients:
– 500g Stew meat
– 400g Carrots (I mixed in some parsnip aswell)
– 2 Onions
– 500g Potatoes
– 400ml Red wine
– 400ml Water
– 3 Bay leaves
– 8 Cloves

  1. Cut up the onions in large pieces.
  2. Heat up plenty of butter in a large stew pan.
  3. Add the meat to the pan and sear on both sides for a couple of minutes on medium/high fire.
  4. Add the onions, wine, water, cloves and bay leaves and bring to a boil.
  5. Lower the fire to its lowest (maybe even move the pan to a smaller fire), put the lid on the pan and let this simmer for a couple of hours.
  6. About an hour before dinner: clean the carrots, cut them up in small pieces and add them to the mix.
  7. About half an hour before dinner: clean (or peel) your potatoes, cut them in smaller pieces and cook them untill they’re ready (about 15 mins after boiling, depending on the size of the pieces).
  8. Mix the potatoes and stew on your plate.

Enjoy!

So what’s¬†your favorite¬†winter comfort food?

Leave a Reply

