Brussel sprouts with bacon and tomato

brusselsprouts

A couple of days ago, I went for a nice little walk. Even though this is the walk I take every day during my break, this time it was extra relaxing. Where I normally switch to automatic pilot and walk around without ever really seeing much of anything, this time I feasted my eyes on everything.

It had been raining quite a bit the days before. This means I get soaking wet during my bike rides to and from work, which is fine, I can dress against that. It also means everything else gets wet. Colors pop out beautifully when that happens.

pictureFirst there was a bit of a haze, which is pretty all in its own right. But then the sun broke through and everything was so pretty! Colors were so vivid. So I spend most of my walk actually noticing my environment. I even took some pictures. Granted, they were with my phone, with which I can’t properly take pictures, but still. I need to re-train that photographer’s eye somehow!

Anyway, ‘vivid’ kind of fits the recipe I’m sharing today. It’s an easy one, just three ingredients. With all of these having their own, very distinctive taste though, it makes for a nice taste-explosion. Honestly, I think even people who aren’t a huge brussel sprouts fan will enjoy this.

Ingredients:
– 500g Brussel sprouts
– 100g Sundried tomatoes
– 150g Bacon pieces

  1. Clean the brussel sprouts and cut them in half. Put them in a pan with water and bring it to a boil. Once it boils, turn the heat down and keep it slowly boiling for about 5-10 minutes.
  2. Cut the sundried tomatoes in pieces.
  3. Bake the bacon for 5 minutes, then add the tomatoes for a couple of minutes.
  4. Drain the brussel sprouts of water and add them to the bacon and tomatoes.
  5. Mix them all on high fire for a couple of minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

