Accidental mushroom dish

MushroomOvenDish

When I find a yummie-looking recipe, I sometimes change a few ingredients. Usually it’s not that far off from the original. This time, however, I accidentally went a bit overboard.

Many grocery stores have free monthly magazines with lots of recipes in them. I’m always excited when there’s a new one out and happily leaf through them to find some nice ideas. I had one recipe lying around for about a year now. It was this tasty-looking mushroom potato oven dish and I was finally ready to try it. I switched out the ham for bacon and switched out the regular cheese for goat cheese.

So I started cooking. I Baked the bacon for a few minutes. Cut the mushrooms and the onion, baked them for a few minutes and added the potatoes and bacon. Added it all into an oven dish and added paprika and cheese. I put the dish in the oven and then I started thinking.. what’s supposed to give taste to this recipe, which originally held ham and regular cheese?

I had forgotten all about the herbal sauce that was supposed to go over it all! My boyfriend came home and I told him sorry, it’s probably not gonna taste all that great. I kinda forgot the biggest part of the recipe.

Turns out, the dish tasted great without the sauce! I was lucky for switching in the bacon and goat cheese, because that gave more than enough taste to the entire dish. It was actually so good, I want to share the recipe with you!

This serves 4:
– 800g Small potatoes (or regular ones, cut into small pieces)
– 400g Mushrooms
– 1 Onion
– 1 Bell pepper
– 100g grated goats cheese
– 250g Bacon cubes

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C.
  2. Cut the onion and cut the mushrooms in quarters. Cut the bell pepper in strips.
  3. Heat a skillet and bake the bacon for a couple of minutes (without oil).
  4. Take out the bacon and heat the onion in the bacon fat for a couple of minutes.
  5. Add the mushrooms to the onion and again, bake for a couple of minutes.
  6. Add the potatoes and bacon, mix well and add the mix to an oven dish.
  7. Place the bell pepper strips on top of the mix and layer this with the goat cheese.
  8. Put the dish in the oven for 30 minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

