Homemade apple sauce

homemadeapplesauce

My mum has many different fruits growing in her garden. Around these times, she always has loads of apples. This is why, last week, I got a bag full of apples.

Last week we got to enjoy a delicious homemade apple pie my mum made. She has many fruits to deal with around this time of year, so she makes jam, apple sauce and apple pie. This year, I asked her for some apples aswell.

I never really liked the regular apple sauce all that much. I prefer the chunky kind and especially the one with some extra cinnamon in it! I also don’t want to eat too much sugar, so homemade apple sauce is a great alternative. I can decide for myself what to put in it.

Now I want to share a basic apple sauce recipe with you. I can’t tell you exactly how much of everything I put in it, because well.. I honestly don’t know. Around the end of the process, I try a bit and add more cinnamon (or honey) to taste.

Ingredients:
– 1kg Apples
– Around 4 tbsp honey
– Around 3 tbsp cinnamon

  1. Start with peeling all the apples. Cut them in quarters, remove the insides and cut the apples in small pieces.
  2. Add a layer of water to a pan and add all the apple pieces. Add the honey and cinnamon.
  3. Put the pan on medium fire and stir regularly.
  4. After about 20 minutes, you should have something resembling (chuncky) apple sauce. Try a bit (watch out, hot!) and add honey or cinnamon to taste.

Enjoy!

You can keep this in the fridge for a couple of days, but it’s also perfectly fine to freeze it. Just take it out of the freezer and let it defrostĀ in the fridge for half a day, before eating. If you’re in a hurry, heat it up slowly in the microwave instead.

Leave a Reply

