Apple cinnamon croissant

AppleCinnamonCroissant

Most of you can probably agree with me on this: Applepie is pretty great. Though the quality of the crust can differ a lot, the apples and cinnamon never disappoints. That’s why I always find excuses to use the mix in all sorts of food. Regular yogurt, puff pastry, overnight oats and croissants.

Quite a while back, I found a recipe for croissant dough filling. I can’t remember exactly what it was, but I think it held marzipan (which I didn’t have), raisins and sugar. I liked the idea of marzipan, but still, the recipe wasn’t really what I was looking for. I did, however, want to fill my croissants with something! So I combined the technique with my own filling, and this is the result:

For 6 croissants:
– Croissant dough for 6 croissants
– 1 Apple
– Raisins to taste (mine filled about 2-3 hands)
– 2tsp cinnamon
– Muffin pan

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C.
  2. Put the raisins in semi-warm water for about 10 minutes, then drain the water from them.
  3. Open up the croissants dough and roll it out.
  4. Don’t cut the dough in triangles. Instead, cut it in three rectangles, then cut these rectangles in two, over the long side. This leaves you with six long rectangles of dough.
  5. Peel the apple, cut it into 4 pieces, remove the core and cut the apple into small pieces.
  6. Mix the raisins, apple pieces and cinnamon.
  7. Over the entire length of the croissants dough, distribute the filling. After that, roll them up and put each croissant into its own cup in the muffin pan.
  8. Put the muffin pan into the oven for 12-15 minutes.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Apple cinnamon croissant

  1. That looks delicious, apple and cinnamon are one of my favourite combinations too and as we head into autumn, it suits the darker nights.

    When the apples are ripe on our tree, I will have to give this a go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

